Uncategorized

« Older Entries

Update January 29, 2020 SB50 DEFEATED BUT STILL ALIVE UNTIL TOMORROW

Wednesday, January 29th, 2020

We are very very close to killing SB 50 but additional action is needed

The bill will be revisited one last time tomorrow as Senator Wiener tries to get 3 more votes by changing a vote or convincing those that did not vote to do so I n support of SB50.

Please take action one more day!

1) THANK the senators who voted NO today against SB 50, and ask them NOT to change their minds on the revote set for Thursday! Thank them here in ONE CLICK!

 

2) URGE the five senators below, who TOOK NO POSITION, to stay pat or VOTE NO Thursday! (Don’t worry about non-voting Shannon Grove, she’s out of state.)

 

PLEASE TONIGHT, or in MORNING, call and email each senator below to abstain again, or VOTE NO on SB 50:

 

Senator Bob Archuleta916-6514032;  senator.archuleta@senate.ca.gov
Senator Steven Bradford916-651-4035;  senator.bradford@senate.ca.gov
Senator Ling Ling Chang 916-651-4029; senator.chang@senate.ca.gov
Senator Mike Morrell916-651-4023;  senator.morrell@senate.ca.gov
Senator Thomas Umberg; 916-651-4034;  senator.umberg@senate.ca.gov

Please continue to make your voice heard in Sacramento about this bill.  We have one more day to take action!

 

 

To those of you that called and/or emailed, thank you so much. Your voice was heard!

Your calls and emails did make difference!

Senator Maria Elena Durazo and Senator Ben Allen who represent Windsor Square both voted no.

 

 

https://www.mercurynews.com/2020/01/29/controversial-housing-bill-sb-50-falls-short-in-senate-vote/

https://www.sfchronicle.com/politics/article/California-Senate-kills-SB50-denser-housing-bill-15015081.php?utm_campaign=premiumsfgate_breakingnews_20200129&utm_source=newsletter&utm_medium=email

UPDATE January 29, 2020 SB50 HEADED FOR VOTE TODAY! Please take action now!

Tuesday, January 28th, 2020

January 29, 2020 UPDATE

SB50 moved to the floor and the Senate is preparing for a vote today.

At Monday’s session (1/27/20), Sen Toni Atkins rose to make a motion to bring SB50 from the Rules Committee to the Senate Floor for a second reading.  Senator Shannon Grove, the Republican minority leader, objected to bringing SB50 forward to the floor saying “this is a very important piece of legislation for California and we need to make sure that it goes to Policy Committee so that there can be adequate discussions and conversations.”  Senator Atkins asked for a “yes” vote and Senator Grove asked for a “no” vote.  The vote went along straight party lines.  29 Democrats all lined up and voted “Aye” on bringing the bill forward to a floor vote, including every Senator that has publicly committed to voting against the bill (eg Portantino, Hertzberg, Mitchell, Hill, etc) while all 10 Republicans voted “No” not to bring it forward for a second reading, including co-author Moorlach and Nielsen and Jones who had voted for the bill in Committee.

In a presentation yesterday SB50 author Scott Wiener said the bill needs enactment by tomorrow.

Now is the time to make the request of our own Senators to vote no emphatically and make the case for why SB50 is a wrong approach to the difficult issues of sheltering the unhoused and creating housing that truly is affordable to the current residents of our state. It is a state reach that impermissibly overrides local control, does not create a single unit of affordable housing and runs roughshod over our cities, counties and neighborhoods.

PLEASE KEEP CALLING AND PLEASE CALL WRITING AS OFTEN AS YOU CAN.  THIS IS A BIPARTISAN ISSUE, THIS IS A SINGLE ISSUE VOTER ISSUE AND THIS IS A DEFINING ISSUE FOR OUR STATE.

PLEASE TAKE ACTION!!

We will not get to vote on this bill.

To have your voice heard you must call or email now before the vote this week.

Call and or email  senators’ DISTRICT OFFICES statewide, to oppose SB 50.

These messages are highly effective and are relayed to Sacramento!

Windsor Square representatives:

Maria Elena Durazo

email: senator.durazo@senate.ca.gov

phone: 916-651-4024

East of Plymouth Between Wilshire and Beverly, East of Gower above Beverly

Ben Allen

email: senator.Allen@senate.ca.gov

phone:916-651-4026

West of Plymouth Wilshire to Beverly, West of Gower above Beverly. 

If the email kicks back, resend a couple times! Some senators have a kick back system to reject new senders.

If you are not in Windsor Square and need to find your representative: http://findyourrep.legislature.ca.gov 

Do NOT contact the Rules Committee. The Rules Committee is NOT voting on SB 50. They are going to procedurally pass it on!

 The battle is on the senate floor, this week!

Here are key e-mail addresses for senators that will be voting: 

senator.Allen@senate.ca.gov,

senator.Archueleta@senate.ca.gov,

senator.Atkins@senate.ca.gov,

senator.bates@senate.ca.gov,

senator.beall@senate.ca.gov,

senator.bradford@senate.ca.gov,

senator.dodd@senate.ca.gov,

senator.durazo@senate.ca.gov,

senator.Galgiani@senate.ca.gov,

senator.Glazer@senate.ca.gov,

senator.gonzalez@senate.ca.gov

senator.Grove@senate.ca.gov,

senator.Hertzberg@senate.ca.gov,

senator.hill@senate.ca.gov,

senator.Hueso@senate.ca.gov,

senator.Hurtado@senate.ca.gov,

senator.jackson@senate.ca.gov

senator.Jones@senate.ca.gov,

senator.Leyva@senate.ca.gov,

senator.Mitchell@senate.ca.gov,

senator.Monning@senate.ca.gov,

senator.Pan@senate.ca.gov,

senator.Portantino@senate.ca.gov,

senator.Roth@senate.ca.gov,

senator.Rubio@senate.ca.gov,

senator.Stern@senate.ca.gov,

senator.Umberg@senate.ca.gov,

senator.Wieckowski@senate.ca.gov,

senator.Wilk@senate.ca.gov

Orderly Street Tree Replacement Plan

Wednesday, November 7th, 2018